top of page
Team Primary Care Nursing post-curricular training program

Principal investigators

Marie-Eve Poitras &

Julia Lukewich

Funding

3 000 000 $

Gouvernement du Canada

Study setting

All Quebec provinces

Themes

Nursing education, primary care, registered nurse, nursing practice, andragogy

Would you like to follow the training?

 

You must first be a member of the Canadian Association of Family Medicine Nurses (CAFIM)!

Do not be afraid! Membership is quick, affordable and gives you access to a host of tools and training aimed at improving your knowledge and advancing your nursing practice!

Why?

Family practice nursing is booming and is now an integral part of the services offered in Canadian primary care settings. With little specific training in their initial curricula, primary care nurses currently evolve without a uniform framework indicating the competencies needed to optimize their field of practice. This prevents patients from benefiting from the full potential of nursing practice, undermines the satisfaction and well-being of the nursing workforce, and limits the effectiveness of primary care teams. Services Canada has, therefore, granted funding to support the development of a national bilingual training program. This program will support and optimize the skills of nurses working in primary care in Canada.

Watch the video to find out how the Primary Care Team is accelerating the case for team-based primary care in Canada!

Why?

In recent years, the College of Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and the Canadian Association of Family Physicians Nurses (CAFPN) have developed tools to guide the practice of family medicine professionals. Among other things, these tools make it possible to better respond to the population's needs and support the development of the nursing role.

However, despite the support of these tools, the nursing practice of family medicine varies from clinic to clinic and is not optimal. A lack of specialized primary care training in nurse education partly explains this variation in family medicine nursing practice. Integrating the CFPC and FMNAC guidelines into nurse training is one solution to practice variability. It is necessary to have a good understanding of nursing practice to gain insight into the elements that influence the integration or non-integration of Canadian guidelines, to target training needs in these environments, and to evaluate the effects of training, different programs, and health policies on nursing practice. To achieve this, it is possible to document their activities, roles and functions within the family medicine clinic using an evaluation tool. However, few such tools exist, preventing those in management positions and research teams from evaluating the effect of their contributions (research projects, management plans, programs) in improving nursing practice.

Objective

The project aims to develop and evaluate an accredited training program consistent with the Centre de Médecine de Famille model and with the Canadian competencies for primary care nurses as promoted by the Canadian Association of Family Practice Nurses.

This training demonstrates a commitment to evidence-based nursing practice to support the primary care nursing workforce, optimizing the nursing role within collaborative primary care teams and best practices in patient engagement. 

Étapes formation ESPI VA.png

How?

The training program will be rolled out nationwide and supported by a community of practice mentors and learners. The training will be available online and asynchronous. It will comprise six modules aimed at improving practices in concrete terms through a better understanding of the principles of interprofessional collaboration, patient engagement and developing strategies to optimize the nursing role in primary care.

What we're trying to understand

  1. How is accredited training deployed in primary care settings?

  2. How does it affect the learning, professional and interprofessional practices of trained nurses and healthcare staff involved in primary care settings?

  3. What factors must be considered to ensure the successful deployment of a training program across Canada?

How will we address them? 

To answer these questions, we will use a developmental evaluation design (Patton, 2010) based on the Knowledge-to-Action model (Graham et al., 2018) and collect mixed-methods data (Creswell and Plano Clark, 2018) from the different populations involved: trained nurses, primary care managers and facilitators who will support both the implementation of the intervention and the learners in their learning.

Knowledge inquiryVA.png

Figure : Knowledge-to-Action Model / KTA (Graham & al., 2018)

What results are we aiming for?

At least 500 nurses will be trained to optimize their scope of practice and role in primary care. The training program will fill current gaps in initial training for primary care nursing practice. It will enable primary care nurses to perform their full range of duties to the maximum of their scope of practice. Better training of the primary care nursing workforce will foster improved professional practices of collaboration and patient engagement.

What benefits are we aiming for?

 

A better understanding of the roll-out of a national training program will inform teaching and research experts in developing future initiatives to strengthen the primary care workforce. In addition, a better understanding of the effectiveness of learning strategies will support the development of training programs tailored to the specific needs of primary care nurses.

Our training program is the first specifically designed for primary care nurses and will help standardize nursing practices across Canada and deliver high-quality patient care.

Key partners

The project is led by Pres Marie-Eve Poitras of Université de Sherbrooke and Julia Lukewich of Memorial University of Newfoundland in partnership with the Canadian Association of Family Practice Nurses and the College of Family Physicians of Canada.

bottom of page

top of page

Programme de formation postcurriculaire de l’Équipe soins primaires infirmière

responsables

Marie-Eve Poitras
et Julia Lukewich

Financement

3 millions

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada via Service Canada

lieu de l'étude

L'ensemble du Canada

Thèmes

Formation infirmière, soins primaires, première ligne, infirmière ou infirmier autorisé, pratique infirmière, andragogie

Vous souhaitez suivre la formation?

 

Vous devez d'abord être membre de l'Association canadienne des infirmières et infirmiers en médecine familiale (ACIMF)!

Soyez sans crainte! L'adhésion est rapide, abordable et vous donne accès à une foule d'outils et formations ayant pour objectif de bonifier vos connaissances et de faire avancer votre pratique infirmière!

Pourquoi?

La pratique infirmière en médecine familiale est en plein essor et fait maintenant partie intégrante des services qui sont offerts dans les milieux de soins primaires canadiens. Avec peu de formation spécifique dans leur cursus initial, les infirmières et infirmiers en soins primaires évoluent actuellement sans cadre uniforme indiquant les compétences nécessaires à l’optimisation de leur  champ de pratique. Ce manque empêche les patientes et patients de profiter du plein potentiel de la pratique infirmière, nuit à la satisfaction et au bien-être de la main-d’œuvre infirmière et limite l’efficacité des équipes de soins primaires. Services Canada a donc accordé un financement qui viendra soutenir le développement d’un programme de formation national bilingue. Celui-ci permettra d’encadrer et d’optimiser les compétences des infirmières et infirmiers évoluant en soins primaires au Canada.

Écoutez la capsule vidéo pour découvrir comment l'Équipe de Soins Primaires accélère le dossier dans la prestation des soins primaires en équipe au Canada!

Quels sont nos objectifs?

Le projet vise à développer et évaluer un programme de formation accrédité cohérent avec le modèle Centre de Médecine de Famille et avec les compétences canadiennes des infirmières et infirmiers en soins primaires tel que promues par l’Association canadienne des infirmières et infirmiers en médecine familiale.

Cette formation démontre un engagement en faveur de la pratique infirmière fondée sur les données probantes afin de soutenir l’effectif infirmier en soins primaires, l’optimisation du rôle infirmier au sein des équipes collaboratives en soins primaires et les meilleures pratiques d’engagement patient. 

Étapes formation ESPI.png

Comment?

Le programme de formation sera implanté dans tout le pays et soutenu par une communauté de pratique rassemblant des mentors et des apprenantes et apprenants. La formation sera disponible en ligne et asynchrone. Elle comprendra six modules qui visent à améliorer concrètement les pratiques par une meilleure connaissance des principes de collaboration interprofessionnelle, d’engagement patient et par le développement de stratégies pour optimiser le rôle infirmier en soins primaires.

Ce que nous cherchons à comprendre 

  1. Comment la formation accréditée est-elle déployée dans les structures de soins primaires?

  2. Quels sont ses effets sur l'apprentissage, les pratiques professionnelles et interprofessionnelles des infirmières et infirmiers ayant reçu la formation et du personnel de santé impliqué dans les milieux de soins primaires?

  3. Quels sont les éléments à prendre en compte pour assurer le succès du déploiement d'un programme de formation à travers le Canada?

Comment allons-nous y répondre? 

Pour répondre à ces questions, nous utiliserons un devis d’évaluation développementale (Patton, 2010) basé sur le modèle Knowledge-to-Action (Graham et al., 2018) et nous recueillerons des données mixtes (Creswell et Plano Clark, 2018) auprès des différentes populations concernées, soit les infirmières et infirmiers formés, les gestionnaires en soins primaires et les personnes facilitatrices qui supporteront à la fois l’implantation de l’intervention et les apprenantes et apprenants dans leurs apprentissages.

Figure : Le modèle Knowledge-to-Action ou KTA (Graham et al., 2018)

Quels résultats visons-nous?

Au moins 500 infirmières et infirmiers seront formés afin d'optimiser leur champ de pratique et leur rôle dans les soins primaires. Le programme de formation viendra combler les lacunes actuelles de la formation initiale concernant la pratique infirmière en soins primaires. Il permettra au personnel infirmier en soins primaires d’exercer l’ensemble de leurs fonctions au maximum de leur champ de pratique. Une meilleure formation de la main-d’œuvre infirmière en soins primaires favorisera l’amélioration des pratiques professionnelles de collaboration et d’engagement patient.

Quelles retombées visons-nous?

 

Mieux comprendre le déploiement d’un programme de formation à l’échelle nationale permettra d’informer les experts en enseignement et en recherche lors du développement de futures initiatives visant à renforcer les effectifs en soins primaires. D’autre part, une meilleure compréhension de l’efficacité des stratégies d’apprentissage favorisera le développement de programmes de formation adaptés aux particularités du personnel infirmier en soins primaires.

Notre programme de formation est le premier spécifiquement conçu pour les infirmières et infirmiers en soins primaires et contribuera à uniformiser les pratiques infirmières à travers le Canada et à procurer des soins de haute qualité aux patientes et patients.

Partenaires clés

Le projet est dirigé par les Pres Marie-Eve Poitras de l'Université de Sherbrooke et Julia Lukewich de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, en partenariat avec l'Association canadienne des infirmières et infirmiers en médecine familiale et le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada.

bottom of page