top of page
Analysis of professional trajectories of nurses during the pandemic crisis:
For strategies aimed at optimizing nurse retentionand thequality of care

principal Investigators

Christian Rochefort

Marie-Eve Poitras

Funding

360 000$

 

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)

Study setting

Province of Quebec

Themes

COVID-19 , Professional trajectory, Nurses, 
Quality of life at work

Infirmières Covid

Why?

The COVID-19 pandemic has significantly impacted nurses' work, mental health and well-being in hospitals and long-term care centres. Many were already operating under challenging conditions, and the pandemic has only increased the risk of significant psychological impact.

 

Alongside these significant psychological impacts, many changes in professional trajectories have also been observed among nurses during the pandemic. Some of these changes were brought about by the nurses themselves, possibly to adapt to the pandemic; others have been forced by public health measures to ensure continuity and accessibility of care. In all cases, these trajectories are likely to generate disruptions in services that influence the ability of the health network to respond adequately to the health crisis.

However, we do not know what determinants are at the basis of the trajectories taken by nurses, as well as the strategies they use to adapt to these trajectories in a pandemic context. This knowledge is crucial to optimal management of the health network in the context of a health crisis in order to maintain a quality service offer while preserving the well-being at work and the psychological health of nurses.

Our research project, therefore, aims to better understand the professional career of nurses during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Québec

What are our
GOALS?

Describe the professional trajectories of nurses during the COVID‑19 pandemic and identify the determining factors

Explain coping strategies nurses used

1

Ultimately, we want to improve access to services and the population's quality of life by allowing them to have the right professional at the right time, according to their needs.

2
3

Identify the strategies they would like to see implemented by their employer to ensure a balance between the maintenance of quality services, their well-being at work and their psychological health.

How?

Using the Mixed Methods appraisal tool, we will conduct an explanatory mixed sequential study.

 

First, a provincial survey will describe the professional trajectories of nurses in the context of COVID-19 and their determinants. Then, a qualitative study will deepen the understanding of professional trajectories, their determinants and the adaptation strategies employed and desired by nurses to ensure a balance between the continuation of quality services to the population and the psychological well-being of nurses in a pandemic context. 

What results are we aiming for? 

The integration of the results will allow to: 

  1. Understand the breadth and depth of indirect impacts of COVID-19 on nurses

  2. Identify strategies to mitigate the effects of COVID-19 on nurses.

  3. Improve preparedness for future health emergencies. 

bottom of page

top of page
Analyse des trajectoires professionnelles du personnel infirmier durant la crise sanitaire :
Pour des stratégies visant à optimiser la rétention des infirmières et infirmiers et la qualité de soins

responsables

Christian Rochefort

Marie-Eve Poitras

Financement

360  000 $

 

Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC)

lieu de l'étude

Province de Québec

Thèmes

COVID-19 , Trajectoire professionnelle, Infirmier·ère·s, 
Qualité de vie au travail

Infirmières Covid

Pourquoi?

La pandémie de COVID-19 a eu des impacts importants sur le travail, la santé mentale et le bien-être du personnel infirmier travaillant en centre hospitalier et en centre de soins de longue durée. Plusieurs travaillaient déjà dans des conditions difficiles et la pandémie n’a fait qu’augmenter le risque d’impact psychologique important.

 

Parallèlement à ces impacts psychologiques importants, de nombreux changements de trajectoires professionnelles ont aussi été observés chez les infirmières et infirmiers pendant la pandémie. Certains de ces changements ont été provoqués par le personnel lui-même, possiblement pour s’adapter à la situation pandémique; d’autres ont été forcés par des mesures de santé publique visant à assurer la continuité et l’accessibilité aux soins. Dans tous les cas, ces trajectoires sont susceptibles de générer des ruptures de services qui influencent la capacité du réseau de la santé à répondre adéquatement à la crise sanitaire

Or, on ignore quels déterminants sont à la base des trajectoires empruntées par les infirmières et infirmiers, ainsi que les stratégies utilisées afin de s’adapter à ces trajectoires en contexte pandémique. Cette connaissance est cruciale à une gestion optimale du réseau de la santé en contexte de crise sanitaire, et ce afin de maintenir une offre de services de qualité tout en préservant le bien-être au travail et la santé psychologique du personnel soignant.

Notre projet de recherche vise donc à mieux comprendre le parcours professionnel du personnel infirmier durant la pandémie de COVID-19.

Québec

Quels sont nos
OBJECTIFS?

Décrire les trajectoires professionnelles du personnel infirmier durant la pandémie de COVID‑19 et en identifier les déterminants

Identifier les stratégies d’adaptation utilisées

1

Ultimement, nous voulons améliorer l'accès aux services et la qualité de vie de la population en leur permettant d'avoir le bon professionnel au bon moment selon leurs besoins.

2
3

Identifier les stratégies que le personnel infirmier souhaiterait voir mises en place par leur employeur afin d’assurer un équilibre entre le maintien de services de qualité, leur bien‑être au travail et leur santé psychologique

Comment?

Nous conduirons une étude mixte séquentielle explicative basée sur le Mixed Methods appraisal tool.

 

D'abord, une enquête par sondage, à l'échelle du Québec, décrira les trajectoires professionnelles des infirmières et infirmiers en contexte de COVID-19 et leurs déterminants. Puis, nous réaliserons des cartographie de parcours pour approfondir la compréhension des trajectoires professionnelles, leurs déterminants et les stratégies d’adaptation employées et désirées pour assurer un équilibre entre le maintien de services de qualité à la population et le bien-être psychologique du personnel infirmier pendant la pandémie. 

Quels résultats visons-nous? 

L’intégration des résultats permettra de : 

  1. Comprendre l’étendue et la profondeur des répercussions indirectes de la COVID‑19 sur les infirmières et infirmiers

  2. Identifier les stratégies permettant d’atténuer les répercussions de la COVID-19 sur le personnel infirmier

  3. Améliorer la préparation aux futures urgences sanitaires

bottom of page