top of page
Development and validation of a Canadian measurement instrument for nursing practice in family medicine

Principal investigators

Marie-Eve Poitras &

Cynthia Gagnon

Funding

$ 39,000

Study setting

All Quebec provinces

Themes

Nursing training, professional practice, family medicine, FMG, measurement tools, psychometrics

Why?

In recent years, the College of Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and the Canadian Association of Family Physicians Nurses (CAFPN) have developed tools to guide the practice of family medicine professionals. Among other things, these tools make it possible to better respond to the population's needs and support the development of the nursing role.

However, despite the support of these tools, the nursing practice of family medicine varies from clinic to clinic and is not optimal. A lack of specialized primary care training in nurse education partly explains this variation in family medicine nursing practice. Integrating the CFPC and FMNAC guidelines into nurse training is one solution to practice variability. It is necessary to have a good understanding of nursing practice to gain insight into the elements that influence the integration or non-integration of Canadian guidelines, to target training needs in these environments, and to evaluate the effects of training, different programs, and health policies on nursing practice. To achieve this, it is possible to document their activities, roles and functions within the family medicine clinic using an evaluation tool. However, few such tools exist, preventing those in management positions and research teams from evaluating the effect of their contributions (research projects, management plans, programs) in improving nursing practice.

What are our goals?

The project aims to :

1) Develop a measurement tool describing nursing practice in family medicine clinics and

2) Measure the psychometric properties of this tool. This step aims to verify that the tool measures the right things correctly and it is an essential step for demonstrating the tool's reliability.

female-nurse-practicing-medicine-clinic.jpg

How?

A mixed design, including qualitative and quantitative research, will be used to build the tool in the following stages: conceptualization (scoping review and semi-structured interviews with nurses, managers, and patients), draft development (identification of relevant items), content validity (cognitive interviews) and test-retest fidelity (stability and consistency of data). Patients, nurses, managers, and decision-makers will be involved in the various stages of tool design.

What results we aim for?

The tool will be available free of charge online and will be accompanied by a guide so that it can be used easily and correctly. Several groups of people will be able to use this tool to measure nursing practice, including clinical teams, managers, and research teams.

bottom of page

top of page
Développement et validation d’un instrument de mesure canadien de la pratique infirmière en médecine familiale 

responsables

Marie-Eve Poitras

et Cynthia Gagnon

Financement

39 000$ sur 1 an

Ministère de l'enseignement supérieur et Réseau de recherche en interventions en sciences infirmières du Québec (RRISIQ)

lieu de l'étude

Toutes les provinces du Canada

Thèmes

Formation infirmière, pratique professionnelle, médecine de famille, clinique de soins primaires, outils de mesures, psychométrie

Pourquoi?

Dans les dernières années, le Collège des médecins du Canada (CMFC) et l’Association canadienne des infirmières et des infirmiers en médecine de famille (ACIMF) ont tous deux développé des outils permettant de guider la pratique des professionnelles et professionnels en médecine de famille. Ces outils permettent entre autres de mieux répondre aux besoins de la population et de soutenir le développement du rôle infirmier.

Or, malgré l’aide apportée par ces outils, la pratique infirmière en médecine de famille varie d’une clinique à l’autre et n’est pas optimale. Cette variation est en partie expliquée par un manque de formation spécialisée en soins primaires dans la formation des infirmières et infirmiers. Une des solutions pour répondre à la variabilité de la pratique est d’intégrer les guides du CMFC et de l’ACIMF dans leur formation. Il est nécessaire de bien connaître la pratique des infirmières et infirmiers afin d’avoir un aperçu des éléments qui influencent l’intégration ou non des lignes directrices canadiennes, cibler les besoins de formations dans ces milieux, évaluer les effets des formations, les différents programmes et les politiques en santé sur la pratique infirmière. Pour y arriver, il est possible de documenter leurs activités, rôles et fonctions à l’intérieur de la clinique de médecine de famille à l’aide d’un outil d’évaluation . Cependant, peu d’outils de ce genre existent empêchant ainsi les personnes occupant les postes de gestion et les équipes de recherche d’évaluer l’effet de leurs contributions  (projet de recherche, plan de gestion, programmes) dans l’amélioration de la pratique infirmière.

Quels sont nos objectifs?

Les objectifs du projet sont de :

1) Développer un outil de mesure décrivant la pratique infirmière en clinique de médecine de famille et

2) Mesurer les propriétés psychométriques de cet outil. Cette étape vise à vérifier si l’outil mesure les bonnes choses et de la bonne manière, c’est une étape essentielle pour démontrer la fiabilité de l’outil.

Télésanté et télémédecine

Comment?

Un devis mixte, qui inclut de la recherche qualitative et de la recherche quantitative, sera utilisé pour construire l’outil selon les étapes suivantes; conceptualisation (revue de la portée et entrevues semi-dirigées avec les infirmières et infirmiers, gestionnaires, patientes et patients), élaboration de la version préliminaire (identification des items pertinents), validité de contenu (entrevues cognitives) et fidélité test-retest (stabilité et constance des données). Des patientes et patients, infirmières et infirmiers, gestionnaires, décideuses et décideurs seront impliqués dans les différentes étapes de conception de l’outil.

Résultats visés

L’outil sera disponible gratuitement en ligne et accompagné d’un guide pour qu’il puisse être utilisé facilement et de la bonne façon. Plusieurs groupes de personnes pourront utiliser cet outil afin de mesurer la pratique infirmière, entre autres, les équipes cliniques, les gestionnaires et les équipes de recherche.  

bottom of page