F2PL_Logo-couleurs.png
F2PL: Implementation and evaluation of a support
strategy for the implementation of practical guides for
clinical nurses and social workers working in FMGs:
the educational intervention for the training of trainers
in front-line services.

Principal investigators

Marie-Eve Poitras,

Yves Couturier, Sylvie Massé, Gilles Gauthier,

Marie-Dominique Poirier

Funding

$ 580,000

Quebec Health Research Fund in partnership with the Ministry of Health and Social Services

Study setting

6 Quebec family medicine groups located in 3 regions

Themes

Training of trainers, nurses, social workers, interprofessional collaboration, practical guides, shared decision-making

Why?

In September 2019, the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services (MSSS) launched two practical guides intended for clinical nurses and social workers who practice in FMGs. These guides enhance the quality of practice and promote interprofessional collaboration between these two professions. The research team offers to support FMG clinicians in adopting the practical guides.

Read the article
of the
sub-project

What are our goals?

Support the implementation and deployment of practical guides for social workers (TS) and clinical nurses (IC) in FMGs through an educational intervention to train clinical trainers who will operate throughout Quebec.

Specific 

Clinical and organizational:

  • Develop and implement a training and implementation support program (educational intervention) in three phases with the changes in practice promoted by the two MSSS practice guides.

  • Document the best ways to implement the educational intervention within the targeted CI(U)SSSs and in the various participating FMGs.

Evaluative:

  • Describe the process for implementing the educational intervention.

  • Evaluate the effects of the intervention on trainers, trainees, managers, decision makers, physicians in charge and patients of the intervention.

  • Identify the conditions for scaling up the educational intervention.

How?

To effectively support nurse clinicians and social workers in the appropriation of practical guides, the approachtrain-the-trainer  is used during each of the three phases of the project. This consists of training teams of clinical trainers who will, in turn, train teams of clinicians in their region. During the first phase, clinicians from six FMGs in Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, Montreal and Abitibi-Témiscamingue were trained.

Journée de formation de formateurs cliniques - Marie-Eve Poitras, Yves Couturier

In the second phase, there will be all the clinicians from all the FMGs in Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, then in the third phase, the training will extend to all of Quebec. The training teams are made up of 50% patient partners, because we firmly believe that experiential knowledge is as important as theoretical knowledge.

What results are we aiming for? 

Promote the harmonious development of professional and collaborative practices at zero cost for FMGs and ultimately aim to improve the services offered to patients.

Identify an optimal and sustainable train-the-trainer strategy. This strategy will then be used for large-scale implementation in Quebec FMGs.

Watch our Doodly capsule on the page Knowledge transfer to learn more. 

 

Sub-Project: Knowledge Assessment of Integrating Patient-Centred Care, led byAnaelle Morin

The objective of the sub-project is to understand how nurse clinicians in GMF at SLSJ will appropriate the patient-partner approach and integrate it into their professional practice.

The use of a descriptive qualitative approach will make it possible to describe in depth the changes in practice of clinical nurses in FMGs following the training received. Individual or group interviews will be conducted to explore the practice changes made by nurses, as well as the barriers and elements that facilitate the adoption of this new practice.

 

An inductive and deductive thematic analysis will be carried out and emerging themes will be condensed to make proposals to answer the research question. Analysis and validation circles will be carried out with all the co-researchers of the F2PL team, including the co-responsible patients.

This project will provide a better understanding of how nurse clinicians in FMGs modulate their practices following train-the-trainer type training. This knowledge will facilitate the creation of new training and the strategies to be favored by the Ministry of Health and Social Services for the appropriation of future practical guides.

F2PL_Logo-couleurs.png

F2PL : Implantation et évaluation d'une stratégie de soutien à l'implantation des guides pratiques pour les infirmières cliniciennes et des travailleurs sociaux oeuvrant en GMF : l'intervention éducative de formation de formateurs aux services de la première ligne.

Chercheurs

responsables

Marie-Eve Poitras,

Yves Couturier, Sylvie Massé, Gilles Gauthier,

Marie-Dominique Poirier

Financement

580 000 $

Fonds de recherche en santé du Québec en partenariat avec le ministère de la santé et des services sociaux

lieu de l'étude

6 groupes de médecine de famille québécois situés dans 3 régions

Thèmes

Formation de formateurs, Infirmières, Travailleurs sociaux, Collaboration interprofessionnelle, Guides pratiques, Décision partagée

Pourquoi?

En septembre 2019, le ministère de la santé et des services sociaux du Québec (MSSS) lance deux guides pratiques destinés aux infirmières cliniciennes et aux travailleurs sociaux qui exercent en GMF. Ces guides viennent rehausser la qualité de l’exercice et favoriser la collaboration interprofessionnelle entre ces deux corps de métier. L’équipe de recherche offre d’accompagner les cliniciens des GMF dans l’appropriation des guides pratiques.

Quels sont nos objectifs?

Soutenir l’implantation et le déploiement des Guides pratiques des travailleurs sociaux (TS) et des infirmières cliniciennes (IC) en GMF par le biais d’une intervention éducative de formation de formateurs cliniques qui agiront partout au Québec.

Spécifiques 

Cliniques et organisationnels :

  • Développer et implanter un programme de formation et de soutien à l’implantation (intervention éducative) en trois phases avec les changements de pratiques promus par les deux guides de pratique du MSSS.

  • Documenter les meilleures façons de mettre en œuvre l’intervention éducative au sein des CI(U)SSS ciblés et dans les différents GMF participants.

Évaluatifs :

  • Décrire le processus d’implantation de l’intervention éducative.

  • Évaluer les effets de l’intervention chez les formateurs, les personnes formées, les gestionnaires, les décideurs, les médecins responsables et les patients de l’intervention.

  • Identifier les conditions de mise à l’échelle de l’intervention éducative.

Comment?

Pour accompagner efficacement les infirmières cliniciennes et les travailleurs sociaux dans l’appropriation des guides pratiques, l’approche Train-the-trainer est utilisée, et ce, durant chacune des trois phases du projet. Celle-ci consiste à former des équipes de formateurs cliniques qui iront, à leur tour, former les équipes de cliniciens dans leur région. Lors de la première phase, les cliniciens de six GMF du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, de Montréal et de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue ont été formés.

Journée de formation de formateurs cliniques - Marie-Eve Poitras, Yves Couturier

En deuxième phase, ce seront tous les cliniciens de l’ensemble des GMF du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, puis en troisième phase, la formation s’étendra sur l’ensemble du Québec. Les équipes de formateurs sont composé à 50 % de patients-partenaires, car nous croyons fermement que le savoir expérientiel est aussi important que le savoir théorique.

Quels résultats nous visons? 

Favoriser le développement harmonieux de pratiques professionnelles et collaboratives à coût nul pour les GMF et viser ultimement une amélioration des services offerts aux patients.

Identifier une stratégie de formation de formateurs optimale et durable. Cette stratégie servira ensuite à l’implantation à grande échelle dans les GMF québécois.

Visionner notre capsule Doodly  sur la page Transfert de connaissances pour en apprendre davantage. 

Sous-Projet : Évaluation des connaissances d’intégration des soins centrées sur le patient, mené par Anaëlle Morin

L’objectif du sous projet est de comprendre comment les infirmières cliniciennes en GMF au SLSJ s’approprieront l’approche patient-partenaire et intégreront celle-ci dans leur pratique professionnelle.

L’utilisation d’une approche qualitative descriptive permettra de décrire en profondeur les changements de pratiques des infirmières cliniciennes en GMF à la suite de la formation reçue. Des entrevues individuelles ou de groupes seront menées afin d’explorer les changements de pratiques réalisées par les infirmières, de même que les barrières et les éléments qui facilitent l’adoption de cette nouvelle pratique.

 

Une analyse thématique inductive et déductive sera réalisée et les thèmes émergents seront condensés pour émettre des propositions permettant de répondre à la question de recherche. Des cercles d’analyse et de validation seront réalisés auprès de l’ensemble de co-chercheurs de l’équipe F2PL incluant les co-responsables-patients.

Ce projet permettra d’apporter une meilleure compréhension de la façon dont les infirmières cliniciennes en GMF modulent leurs pratiques à la suite d’une formation de type train-the-trainer. Ces connaissances faciliteront la création de nouvelles formations et les stratégies à favoriser par le ministère de la Santé et des services sociaux pour l’appropriation des futurs guides pratiques. 

 
lotus.png