Les Patient-Reported Experience Measures (PREMs)
et Patient-Reported Outcomes Measures (PROMs)
ou mesures de l'expérience de soin et de l'état de santé rapportées par les patient(e)s

provincial principal investigators

Marie-Eve Poitras,

Magaly Brodeur,

Sylvie Lambert, Diana Zidarov, Regina Vesca, Jeannie Haggerty, Maude Laberge, Nadia Sourial, Sara Ahmed

Funding

$ 28,750

Réseau-1 Québec

$ 10,000

Fondation de ma vie

study setting

18 participating countries

(including Canada)

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

25 Canadian medical clinics (pilot project)

themes

Quality of care, patient experience, PREMs, PROMS

caméra vidéo icone.png

PREMs/PROMs

Pour en savoir plus sur ces indicateurs, visionnez nos capsules de vulgarisation scientifique ici!

Why?

 

The way a patient experiences his consultation experience in a medical clinic and his perception of his state of health (PREMs and PROMs) are indicators that allow us to measure the quality of the services received and to capture whether the health system meets their needs. . It is then possible to improve the relationship between the health professional and the patient, the quality of care, the quality of life of patients, policies, public health monitoring, etc.

prems et proms2.PNG

What are our goals?

Identify indicators that measure the experience and satisfaction of patients (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measures PROMs and Patient-Reported Experience Measures PREMs) who consult in a medical clinic that are the same no matter where you are in the world.  

How are we going to proceed?

Canada is participating in this international study conducted by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The Quebec portion is led by our team. We will carry out a pilot study by recruiting 5 medical clinics and clinicians as well as 250 patients (Canada: 25 clinics and 1,250 patients). We will evaluate, using questionnaires, the experience of patients during their consultations and the effects of these on their health. Subsequently,   we will perform the main study which aims to enroll 3,000 patients and 60 clinics across Canada.

What results do we hope to achieve?

This project will enable the OECD to collect data from 18 countries. Thanks to the various questionnaires, the OECD will be able to build a reference tool to measure the quality of health care that users receive according to their experience as users and their health condition.

From a Quebec point of view, we hope to be able to create a cohort of users that we can follow over time and inform decision-makers about the indicators to use in order to improve the public health system._cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_

Cover livreblanc.PNG

WHITE BOOK

As part of this project,
we wrote a

Download it here!

Les Patient-Reported Experience Measures (PREMs)
et Patient-Reported Outcomes Measures (PROMs)
ou mesures de l'expérience de soin et de l'état de santé rapportées par les patient(e)s

Chercheuses

responsables provinciales

Marie-Eve Poitras,

Magaly Brodeur,

Sylvie Lambert, Diana Zidarov, Regina Visca, Jeannie Haggerty, Maude Laberge, Nadia Sourial, Sara Ahmed

Financement

28 750 $

Réseau-1 Québec

10 000 $

Fondation de ma vie

lieu de l'étude

18 pays participants

(dont le Canada)

25 cliniques médicales canadiennes (projet pilote)

thèmes

Qualité des soins, Expérience des patients, PREMs, PROMs

caméra vidéo icone.png

PREMs/PROMs

Pour en savoir plus sur ces indicateurs, visionnez nos capsules de vulgarisation scientifique ici!

Pourquoi?

 

La façon dont un patient vit son expérience de consultation dans une clinique médicale et sa perception de son état de santé (PREMs et PROMs) sont des indicateurs permettant de mesurer le qualité des services reçus et de capter si le système de santé répond à leurs besoins. Il est possible par la suite d'améliorer la relation entre le professionnel de la santé et le patient, la qualité des soins, la qualité de vie des patients, les politiques, le monitoring de la santé publique, etc.

prems et proms2.PNG

Quel sont nos objectifs?

Identifier des indicateurs qui mesurent l’expérience et la satisfaction des patients (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measures PROMs et Patient-Reported Experience Measures PREMs) qui consultent dans une clinique médicale qui sont les mêmes peu importe où l'on se trouve dans le monde. 

Comment allons nous procéder?

Le Canada participe à cette étude internationale menée par l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). La portion du Québec est menée par notre équipe. Nous allons réaliser une étude pilote en recrutant 5 cliniques médicales et cliniciens ainsi que 250 patients (Canada : 25 cliniques et 1 250 patients). Nous évaluerons, à l'aide de questionnaires, l'expérience des patients lors de leurs consultations et les effets de celles-ci sur leur santé. Par la suite,  nous effectuerons l'étude principale qui vise à recruter 3 000 patients et 60 cliniques à travers le Canada.

Quels résultats espérons-nous obtenir?

Ce projet permettra à l'OCDE de récolter des données provenant de 18 pays. Grâce aux différents questionnaires, l'OCDE pourra construire un outil de référence afin de mesurer la qualité des soins de santé que les usagers reçoivent en fonction de leur expérience en tant qu'usagers et de leur condition de santé.

D'un point de vue québécois, nous espérons pouvoir créer une cohorte d'usagers que nous pourrons suivre dans le temps et informer les décideurs au sujet des indicateurs a utiliser afin d'améliorer le système de santé publique. 

Cover livreblanc.PNG

LIVRE BLANC

Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous avons rédigé un