provincial principal investigators

Marie-Eve Poitras and

Christian Rochefort

Student: Andrée-Ann Rivard

study setting

Saguenay-Lac-Saint Jean

themes

Quality of life at work, COVID-19, ministerial decree, human resources management, nurses

COVID-19 Pandemic: Analysis of the impact of
ministerial decree 2020-007 
on working conditions
and job satisfaction perceived by nurses
of Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

Why?

 

Following the announcement by the World Health Organization (WHO) regarding the appearance of the new SARS-CoV-2 virus, the Government of Quebec had, in turn, to declare a state of health emergency. To this end, several ministerial decrees followed in order to ensure the safety and health of the population. However, Order 2020-007 has had a significant impact on the working conditions of Quebec nurses and their mental health. In order to ensure an adequate number of nursing staff in the various health institutions, this ministerial decree suspended the collective agreements of public employees.

female-doctor-with-face-mask.jpg

Since its adoption, this document has authorized various administrative acts such as the postponement and cancellation of summer vacation, the transfer and delegation of employees to other assignments or centers of activity, the mandatory increase in full-time availability and more. Again.

These measures are unprecedented in the Quebec network. In order to better understand the impact of these measures, the purpose of this descriptive qualitative study is to  describe and understand the lived experience of nurses in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (SLSJ) at following the suspension of their collective agreement.

Specifically the research question will be; “How did the nurses of Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean experience the application of Ministerial Order 2020-007? ".

What are our goals?

1) Explore the perceptions of SLSJ nurses regarding Ministerial Order 2020-007;

 

2) Describe the experience of SLSJ nurses following the application of this order;

 

3) Describe the impact of this stoppage on their working conditions and job satisfaction.

How are we going to proceed?

Using a feminist theoretical framework, our descriptive qualitative study will be designed to offer women, representing nearly 90% of the nursing workforce in Quebec, the opportunity to express their reality. From 15 to 20 nurses from various clinical sectors throughout the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region will be recruited by means of a convenience and then theoretical sampling. Three data collection methods will be used and triangulated:

 

1) Semi-directed interviews, lasting approximately one hour each, will be conducted with the participants.

 

2) The use of aPhotovoiceallow participants to identify a photo representing their perception and lived experience in connection with Order 2020-007;

 

3) The participants will then be invited to a focus group lasting approximately 90 minutes  in order to consolidate the concepts that emerged from the individual interviews and the Photovoice.  The photos collected during the PhotoVoice will also be revealed to the group in order to identify the personal and collective reflections conveyed by these images.

 

Using this strategy, the diversity and complementarity of the data collected will allow us to better understand and describe the experience of these nurses. 

What results do we hope to achieve?

The results will allow us to draw a portrait of the experiences of nurses in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean following the suspension of their collective agreement. Although to our knowledge, no study has looked into the phenomenon, experiential data from nurses who experienced the ministerial stoppage suggest that the measures have impacted different aspects of their personal and professional lives. The results of this study could contribute to the development of new human resources management strategies in times of health crisis, as well as to the improvement of the working conditions of nurses in Quebec.

Infographic of the project, presented as part of CIUSSS Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean Research Day 2022

Arreté Ministériel.jpg

ChercheuRs
responsables 

Marie-Eve Poitras et

Christian Rochefort

Étudiante responsable :

Andrée-Ann Rivard

lieu de l'étude

Province du Québec

Région du Saguenay-

Lac-Saint-Jean

thèmes

Qualité de vie au travail, COVID-19, arrêté ministériel, gestion des ressources humaines, infirmières

Pandémie de COVID-19 : Analyse de l'impact de
l’arrêté ministériel 2020-007 
sur les conditions de travail
et la satisfaction professionnelle perçus par les infirmières
du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

Pourquoi?

 

Suite à l’annonce de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) quant à l’apparition du nouveau virus SARS-CoV-2, le Gouvernement du Québec a dû, à son tour, déclarer l’état d’urgence sanitaire. À cet effet, plusieurs arrêtés ministériels s'en sont suivis afin d’assurer la sécurité et la santé de la population. Toutefois, l’arrêté 2020-007 a eu un impact important sur les conditions de travail des infirmières du Québec et leur santé mentale. Afin d'assurer un nombre adéquat d’effectif infirmier dans les différentes institutions de santé, cet arrêté ministériel a suspendu les conventions collectives des salariés publics.

female-doctor-with-face-mask.jpg

Depuis son adoption, ce document a autorisé différents actes administratifs tels que le report et annulation des vacances estivales, la mutation et la délégation des employés sur d’autres affectations ou centres d’activités, l’augmentation obligatoire des disponibilités à temps complet et plus encore.

Ces mesures sont sans précédent dans le réseau québécois. Afin de mieux comprendre l’impact de ces mesures, le but de la présente étude qualitative descriptive est de  décrire et comprendre l'expérience vécue des infirmières du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (SLSJ) à la suite de la suspension de leur convention collective.

Plus précisément la question de recherche sera ; « Comment les infirmières du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean ont vécu l'application de l’arrêté ministériel 2020-007 ? ».

Quel sont nos objectifs?

1) Explorer les perceptions des infirmières du SLSJ à l'égard de l’arrêté ministériel 2020-007 ;

 

2) Décrire l’expérience des infirmières du SLSJ suite à l’application de cet arrêté ;

 

3) Décrire les répercussions de cet arrêt sur leurs conditions de travail et leur satisfaction professionnelle.

Comment allons nous procéder?

À l’aide d’un cadre théorique féministe, notre étude qualitative descriptive sera conçue de façon à offrir aux femmes, représentant près de 90 % de l'effectif infirmier au Québec, la possibilité d’exprimer leur réalité. De 15 à 20 infirmières provenant de divers secteurs cliniques à travers toute la région du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean seront recrutées au moyen d’un échantillonnage de convenance, puis théorique. Trois méthodes de collectes de données seront employées et triangulées :

 

1) Des entrevues semi-dirigées, d’une durée approximative d’une heure chacune, seront effectuées auprès des participantes.

 

2) L’utilisation d’un Photovoice permettra aux participantes d’identifier une photo représentant leur perception et expérience vécue en lien avec l’arrêté 2020-007;

 

3) Les participantes seront ensuite conviées à un focus group d’une durée approximative de 90 minutes  afin de consolider les concepts ayant émergé des entrevues individuelles et du Photovoice.  Les photos recueillies lors du PhotoVoice seront également révélées au groupe afin de dégager les réflexions personnelles et collectives véhiculées par ces images.

 

À l’aide de cette stratégie, la diversité et la complémentarité des données recueillies nous permettront de mieux comprendre et décrire l’expérience de ces infirmières. 

Quels résultats espérons-nous obtenir?

Les résultats nous permettront de dresser un portrait des expériences vécues par les infirmières du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean suite à la suspension de leur convention collective. Bien qu’à notre connaissance, aucune étude ne s'est penchée sur le phénomène, les données expérientielles provenant d’infirmières ayant vécu l’arrêt ministériel suggèrent que les mesures ont impacté différents aspects de leur vie personnelle et professionnelle. Les résultats de cette étude pourront contribuer au développement de nouvelles stratégies de gestion des ressources humaines en temps de crise sanitaire, ainsi qu’à l’amélioration des conditions de travail des infirmières du Québec.

Infographie du projet, présentée dans le cadre de la Journée de la recherche 2022 du CIUSSS Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

Arreté Ministériel.jpg